In the fall of 2005, the SERF Vicariate presented the proposal, arising from the Together in Faith process, that at some future date, the parishes of St. Germaine and St. Gertrude would merge into one parish with two worship sites. In the fall of 2006, Cardinal Maida accepted that recommendation along with all the other recommendations that had been submitted by the vicariates.

In the spring of 2007, Bishop Earl Boyea met with the parishes in the vicariate that would be affected by the proposals submitted to the Archdiocese. Subsequently, a transition committee was formed to plan for a future merger of St. Germaine and St. Gertrude. The committee was comprised of the two pastors, Fr. John McGreevy, O.P., and Fr. Jim Bjorum, and six representatives of each parish. The committee began regular monthly meetings in October 2007. Subcommittees were formed: Christian Service, Education, Stewardship, Worship, and Communication.

It was announced that Fr. McGreevy’s assignment to St. Gertrude would end on June 30, 2009, and the Dominican community would not be replacing him. Fr. Bjorum’s assignment to St. Germaine was extended to the same date—June 30, 2009.

In October 2008, a town hall meeting was held at St. Germaine. It opened with a prayer service, led by the choir, which set the tone for the whole evening. Bishop Quinn remarked, “Every town hall meeting should start like this!”

On March 11, 2009, Fr. Bjorum and Fr. McGreevy formally requested that Cardinal Maida merge the two parishes. The document was also signed by Deacon Terry Downey, chair, and Michael “Duke” DeLong, vice-chair of the transition committee.

On the weekend of May 9 & 10, 2009, a letter from Archbishop Vigneron was read at both churches. The letter named Fr. Bjorum as administrator of the parish to be formed and named Our Lady of Hope.

And so, on July 1, 2009, the new parish of Our Lady of Hope emerged with Fr. Jim Bjorum as administrator.

Fr. Jim was installed as the first pastor of Our Lady of Hope Parish on July 17, 2011 by Bishop Byrnes.